Spring 2016 Mini-Tour (2 of 6)

This is part of a six-part series documenting my spring 2016 mini-tour from my house outside of Sanger, Texas to Wichita Falls, Texas. My route consisted mainly of gravel and dirt roads, and I covered about 130 miles over 2.5 days. Although this was a “credit card tour” which included meals and lodging purchased along the way, I did bring my coffee gear and had a roadside lunch on the second day. There were two reasons for this. Firstly, there were no towns or services along my route on the second day, and secondly, I’m a coffee snob. Documentation will be mainly in the form of photographs with a few captions or comments to relay something that might have caught my interest.

The series will be presented in six themes; (1) Flora and Fauna, (2) Roads and Rambles, (3) Little Texas Towns, (4) Classic Cars, (5) Lunch Outside, and (6) A Dog Agility Trial.

WARNING – This is an extremely photo-heavy post. Do you really have time for this? Do you have a snack and a refreshing beverage in hand?

a

PART TWO OF SIX – ROADS AND RAMBLES

The purpose of this post (mainly) is to document the kinds of roads I traveled, and the kinds of terrain I saw. I’d estimate that 3/4 of my roads were gravel or dirt, and the remaining 1/4 was split evenly between chipseal and asphalt or concrete paved roads. There were a few flat areas, but it was mostly mildly rolling terrain. There were a few spots that were steep enough to make me stand and rear traction was a challenge, but those hills were short.

IMG_2438

Miles of gravel ribbon, lined with barbed wire and contented cows.

IMG_2439IMG_2441IMG_2442IMG_2443

This post also includes plenty of photos of my Ocean Air Cycles Rambler. I have been extremely pleased with this bike. This trip included a heavier load that what I normally carry on my #coffeeoutside outings, and I was delighted how well it worked. It was even better than I had hoped. Finally, the bike shows up often because I just like images that say, “Yes, as a matter of fact, I actually DID ride my bike here.”

IMG_2445IMG_2446

The long, straight wide open roads are plenty fine for a meditative mind, but I like me a winding road with a few ups and downs to keep me constantly curious.

IMG_2447IMG_2448IMG_2449IMG_2450IMG_2451IMG_2452IMG_2463

The photos in this section were from the segment between Saint Jo and Nocona. What a lovely stretch that was! More hills, more turns, more trees, and I can’t remember a single car (only a few dogs).

IMG_2464IMG_2465IMG_2467

This is the view my handlebars see. No wonder I have a happy bicycle.

IMG_2468

Well…the masonry appeared to be in good shape.

IMG_2471IMG_2473IMG_2474IMG_2534IMG_2535

Thursday was cloudy almost all day. It threatened rain early, but never delivered. Friday, however, was all bright sunshine and I was wishing I had my straw hat.

IMG_2536IMG_2538

Right before this photo, I had learned that a bridge was out. At first, I was a bit flustered because I was relying exclusively on my pre-programmed route in my Garmin device. But it didn’t take long to find me a 5-mile detour. Just think, if the bridge-out detour hadn’t forced a re-route, I wouldn’t have this photo. Roll with it.

IMG_2539IMG_2540IMG_2541

Apparently independent and self-reliant country folk don’t need giant, shoulder high solid concrete railing on their bridges.

IMG_2543IMG_2544

Here’s that patch of Bluebonnets from yesterday’s post.

IMG_2547

Where did those shiny black cows go?

IMG_2555IMG_2556IMG_2557

What’s bicycle tour without a little two-track, and a sprinkling of washboard?

IMG_2558IMG_2559IMG_2580IMG_2581IMG_2584

I was without shade for a good while on the second day. This image is a little disappointing in that it doesn’t seem to show how much I was sweating. I was longing for a little lunch and a reasonable shade in which to partake right about this time.

IMG_2585IMG_2586IMG_2587IMG_2593IMG_2595IMG_2616

Judging from the returned cloud cover, this must start the photos from Saturday morning. There was a severe weather forecast for Wichita Falls, and I was wondering when it would swallow me. But, other than a few sprinkles, it never did.

IMG_2617

Occasionally, I’d be out in the middle of some vast wide open country, with no house in sight, and I’d see pens, corrals, and even bleachers. It is good to be prepared.  You never know when a rodeo might spontaneously erupt.

IMG_2618IMG_2619IMG_2620

When I came over this rise, I told myself, “Just ride out there to the horizon, and turn left.”

As it turned out, that is exactly what happened. There was a “T” intersection pretty much at the visual limit of that photo. Yep, left turn.

IMG_2621IMG_2622IMG_2623IMG_2624IMG_2625IMG_2626IMG_2628

There was a lot of green at this time of year, but that tall reddish grass was good for some variety out on the open plains.

IMG_2629z

I like these kinds of roads because they are slower, longer, quieter, and free from billboards, fast moving automobiles, and other distractions from the landscape. And the sounds. Oh my, the sounds of the continuous rolling crunch, the bird chirps, the grass stalks rustling, and the wind whistling through barbed wire.

Next post – “Little Texas Towns”…

11 thoughts on “Spring 2016 Mini-Tour (2 of 6)

  1. Looks like a very scenic route with limited places to restock supplies.
    But, you are a pro and I know you know how/what to pack.
    Someday soon, I hope to do at least a 10 mile ride with you 🙂
    Take care and have fun!
    Peace 🙂

  2. I really like following your blog. Don’t mind all of pictures,actually I look forward to them. Who knew that Texas had that kind of landscape.

  3. Very much enjoying the ride report and photography. Kinda making me homesick, too, left North Texas a long time ago for New England, which has its own attractions.

  4. What other’s said, I enjoy the photograph’s. Looks like you’re using the large Wald basket and large shop sack? That combo is great! Love the Rambler and how you built it up.

    • It’s the medium basket and sack. Maybe it looks large because it’s a small bike, and the sack is sitting up higher on top of the fold-up mat.

Leave a Reply

