Just a Few Details

1

A small single-prop airplane, purring like a kitten, sneaks up behind me in the dark.

2

Tiny pebbles, tossed by knobby tires, land on the brim of my straw hat, rolling and rattling like pool table balls in a track from the pocket to the gathering end.

3

Other pebbles, tossed into my sandals, gather there until I tilt my foot, flap my heel, and pour them out like gravel out of a dump truck bed.

4

Like a diligent bartender shining shot glasses, I wipe the gravel dust off the inside of my enamel mug with a bandanna.

5

Sitting at the picnic table sipping freshly-brewed coffee, remembering the good times like a lonely old man in a rural diner.

6

Beads of sweat accumulate on the back of my wrists, and sparkle like dew drops on early morning grass.

7

The back half of the side slit in my MUSA shorts flaps in the breeze like a friendly wave.

 

10 thoughts on “Just a Few Details

  1. “Sitting at the picnic table sipping freshly-brewed coffee, remembering the good times like a lonely old man in a rural diner.” Yup sums it up for me reflecting on good ole’ adventures…thanks Chris for your prose.

    • Ronnie, I have been thinking about it. That’s what I do when it is so hot. This is unofficial, but highly probable…Saturday, November, 14. I’ll try to get this verified and confirmed soon, and then send out a more formal announcement. I’m pleased that you join us each year!

      • Hi Chris: I unsubscribed after this post, and I wanted to explain. I had previously moved the Pondero posts from my old AOL account to my new Outlook account. By unsubscribing, I’m just killing the duplication. I sure didn’t want you to think I didn’t like your last post. ~Keith

      • Thanks for the considerate note. I have just assumed that plenty of folks would come and go as their free time or interests change, and I don’t take unsubscribers personally. In fact, I don’t really even check the stats very often, and only then as a matter of curiosity. That said, it is good to know there are folks who seem to enjoy some the same things I do.

Leave a Reply

