LPTST – The Quickbeam

1

I suppose my favorite way to document my bicycle travels is to lean my bike against something (usually a barbed wire fence), step back, and snap a photo. To me, there’s something about that theme, that says, “Here’s where I am, I’m having a great time, I arrived by bicycle, and I recommend you give it a try”. If I can say that a zillion times, it won’t be too much (at least for me)  because that’s pretty much all I have to say.

So this is the post in which I lean my bicycle against things along the LPTST route and snap photos. I am very pleased with my plan (and execution) to use a modern bike, with modern components, and modern touring gear all in the spirit of those British three-speed tourists whose examples we tried to follow. The bike performed perfectly. It performed so perfectly that my original plan to convert it back to fixed mode immediately upon my return has been delayed. What’s the rush? Furthermore, I’ve surprised myself by installing my rear rack on the Quickbeam (instead of the A. Homer Hilsen I usually take for overnighters) for a possible S24O this weekend.

No it isn’t one of those remarkable vintage British roadsters we saw in prior posts, but let’s celebrate the Quickbeam anyway because it accomplished the mission magnificently. So as you scroll through this set of photos, I hope that your prior glimpse of the lovely and peaceful surroundings is magnified. Because afterall…these are the places I visited, I had a great time, I arrived by bicycle, and I recommend you give it a try.

IMG_4676 IMG_4682 IMG_4686 IMG_4688 IMG_4702 IMG_4715 IMG_4717 IMG_4721 IMG_4723 IMG_4728 IMG_4731 IMG_4732 IMG_4789 IMG_4807

6 thoughts on “LPTST – The Quickbeam

  1. The Quickbeam looks so natural & relaxed. Seems like there would be no reason to “back pedal” to single speed. I know the QB was originally intended for single speed or flip-flop, but the ready adaptation to 3 speed is further proof of the versatility inherent in Rivendell bicycles. Nice work.

  2. You’re a better man than I–I would have just zip tied the shifter cables to the bike. But I guess that wrapping looks a lot more appropriate for a three speed ride like this!

    • Thanks, Eric. Since I wasn’t careful to make the widths uniform, it doesn’t really look as good as I imagined. But I didn’t have suitable zip ties handy, and I kinda wanted to see how the twine would work out. I certainly is doing the job. Maybe next time it comes out looking better.

  3. It was really neat to see so many of the LPTST Nutters be so complimentary of your Quickbeam roadster. Compliments that were quite appropriate; I must say!

Leave a Reply

