LPTST – The People

IMG_4574

Someone asked me at dinner, after the tour was completed, what would be my favorite part or thing about the LPTST. I wasn’t prepared for such as question. So as my brain streamed an extremely fast-forward replay of the entire weekend for me, my answer became obvious. It was the people.

My favorite part was the people for a variety of reasons. I normally ride solo, so having a little company during a ride seemed special. Simply knowing that there are others out there that are just as smitten with bicycles, touring, and enjoying the countryside at 10mph with lots of stops was…well…comforting. When I decided to spend so much time traveling to and from this event, I anticipated that I’d love seeing the cool bikes, riding the route, and enjoying the scenery. But I never anticpated the friendliness and hospitality of the ride hosts, fellow riders, and even the merchants encountered all along the way. It was other-worldly in more ways than you can see in the photos. Encounters with people were more pleasant than my day to day world, and added a dimension that I can not adequately describe.

So let’s move on to another bunch of photos.

These photos are grouped together to give you a sense of the people of the LPTST. If you take your time scrolling through, you might notice the ages, the number of ladies present, and the apparel. You might also notice the roads, the surrounding landscape, and a few of the stopping places. You’ll see people riding, standing and chatting, taking photos, and sitting and eating ice cream. You might even see a couple of cameo appearances of me admiring the view from the top of the Bay City hill.

What you probably can not adequately sense, even in so many photos, is the way encounters with these folks can warm the heart. You also won’t see the brew-up activities. That subject will be featured in the next post.

IMG_4582 IMG_4588 IMG_4590 IMG_4603 IMG_4605 IMG_4608 IMG_4609 IMG_4612 IMG_4614 IMG_4615 IMG_4618 IMG_4619 IMG_4621 IMG_4626 IMG_4627 IMG_4630 IMG_4631 IMG_4633 IMG_4634 IMG_4636 IMG_4654 IMG_4664 IMG_4691 IMG_4695 IMG_4699 IMG_4701 IMG_4703 IMG_4713 IMG_4714 IMG_4718 IMG_4719 IMG_4787 IMG_4788 IMG_4790 IMG_4791 IMG_4797 IMG_4798 IMG_4801 IMG_4802 IMG_4803 IMG_4808 IMG_4811

6 thoughts on “LPTST – The People

  1. Before moving to Texas, I lived in the vicinity of Lake Pepin in the early ’90s. Its one of my favorite areas, and to see all the great pictures in this series of posts reminds me why I miss it so much.

    • All the locals were talking enthusiastically about coming out of a tough winter. Based on my experience, I can see why someone would miss it. But my impression might have been dramatically different one month earlier. Hardy folk up there, no doubt.

  2. I see you were in my home town of Red Wing – cool to see so many people gathering there for such a ride! Nice photos!

Leave a Reply

