No Achievements

Blog buddy, Tim, has a clever way with words and a blog I enjoy immensely. Occasionally, he includes a Strava window as a part of his posts showing his latest ride route. Strava is an ingenius and handy tool that records all manner of cycling route/speed/climbing, and distance statistics. I can understand why it is so popular. Not being a Strava user myself, however, I noticed an interesting note at the bottom of the Strava window of Tim’s┬árecent post. What it said amused me almost as much as Tim’s always clever words.

QB 5-8-14“There are no achievements on this ride”

Ha ha ha…oh yes there are, Strava. There are achievements even you can not quantify.

6 thoughts on “No Achievements

  1. As a Strava user who doesn’t care a jot about segments and KOMs and such (I just use it because I like data and it’s the easiest way I’ve found to use both my iPhone and my Garmin to feed the same data store), I’m always perversely pleased when I get the “no achievements” line.

  2. Totally agree, Chris.

    I don’t use Strava, but I do use a Garmin and some other app for walking.
    As long as I have fun, for me, objective is achieved. Distance, speed, etc., are immaterial.
    Yup – immaterial.

    Peace :)

  3. I like data as much as anyone. I still do it the old fashioned way. A Planet Bike odometer. After each ride I transfer the data to paper with a writing instrument such as a pen. I have a hard time justifying paying for technology. I only adopted the use of cell phone technology two years ago. When I feel like I’m being left behind is about the time I give in.

Leave a Reply

