Abandoned Bridge Micro-Tour

aThe destination was an abandoned steel truss and wooden deck bridge a couple of hours away. It was about 30 feet over the creek bottom, and there was a beaver dam just upstream. The ponded water was iced over, but I was able to watch and hear the creek trickle along downstream from my sitting spot.

b cIt was cold, breezy, humid, and foggy. The sky was grey and the thousand-shades-of-brown were muted. Oddly the grey and brown almost seemed to run together. All was subdued and other-wordly.

d eThe numerous small patches of bright white snow, and the laser-like flashes of red birds darting in front of my path stood out prominently against the hazy backdrop.

fA prominent landmark (for me) was discovered, like a water starved flower, wilted to the ground.

g h i

We don’t normally have the opportunity to see icicles that are taller than me. But this one indicates that the name ‘Dripping Springs’ is appropriate for this place.

j k l m

In the recent moist conditions, most of the roads had swallowed the last application of gravel. They were a little bumpy, but otherwise smooth and fast. Well, fast for someone.

n o

The abandoned bridge location proved to be as good as I had hoped. It was a lovely view and delightfully quiet. This is a good place to bring a friend.

p q

On the return leg, some of the red color in the grass caught my eye. Then it seemed I noticed it almost constantly. We have some pretty colors in the dead of winter. I like to call it a-thousand-shades-of-brown, which is a phrase borrowed from a friend, but it really is more than that.

qa r s tI wonder if my bail-out from last weekend resulted in a more rewarding outing today. I realize if things don’t work out just the way I want, sometimes, with a little time and patience, they can work out even better than I could have imagined. This is a classic example why I love me a good micro-tour.

 

11 thoughts on “Abandoned Bridge Micro-Tour

  1. Thank you for bringing us, your friends, along on this ride. I love the ┬┤dead’ of winter. Beautiful in pictures and word!

  2. Great post, the pictures and narrative really made me feel the pleasure in a hot cup of coffee, sitting on the bridge on a dreich day.
    Also, is pic 4 a Texas Longhorn? If you get some pictures of those big beasts, I’ll find and blog some Scottish highland cattle!

    • I’m no expert. It might be a Longhorn, cause those are pretty big horns. But I usually think about the classic wider, straighter horns. We’ve certainly got a few of those around (as well as a few buffalo), and I’ll do my best to get some decent photos for you.

  3. Chris, there is something about the Winter period which is soothing, the calm before the frenzy of life explodes from beneath…your joy and serenity is transmitted most eloquently. Thank you for taking me to that place.

  4. Wonderful photos. I can almost feel the icy temperature. Stories like this give us a window into other people’s experiences & places we may not see.

Leave a Reply

