Another Muenster Loop Post

a

Its not the first, or last, time I’ll say that the Muenster loop might be my local favorite. The photo above was taken at the KK store in Muenster. It is a fabulous rest stop, and my turn-around spot. I like this loop so well, that I spent several pedal revolutions yesterday wondering if it should become my future “Ramble” loop. Using this 100k+ route, would turn my event into an all day affair for some participants. But maybe that’s okay. Still pondering this idea…

I think the photos pretty much tell the story of a perfect day on the bike. Had a great time, wish you were there.

IMG_2788

long shadows on a crisp early morning

IMG_2796

a good place for a coffee warm-up

IMG_2799

what country bikes are made for

 

IMG_2808

old barns make me stop and admire

 

IMG_2809

lonely road ahead

 

IMG_2816

sometimes a shady tunnel

 

IMG_2817

and sometimes open spaced, big sky prairie

 

IMG_2820

no mountains, but sometimes a decent vista

 

IMG_2822

always rolling range land

 

IMG_2823

a little greener than usual after long awaited rain

 

IMG_2827

can’t hold the camera straight

 

IMG_2830

like a perfect day all to myself

IMG_2832

Rosston Store, since 1879, the only refuel stop for miles

 

IMG_2834

burley barn, one of my favorites

IMG_2838

looking right at it, and still not straight

 

IMG_2841

hillcrest view

 

IMG_2844

road cut into hillside

 

IMG_2845

out of the shade, and into the sun

 

IMG_2847

blue, green, and a gravel ribbon

 

IMG_2853

blue sky, burgundy tape, and rack-framed head badge

 

IMG_2856

just around the corner from the Cogburn Cemetery

 

IMG_2858

creekside, looking downstream

 

IMG_2860

creekside, looking upstream

 

IMG_2862

scattered gravel, rusty rail, and leaning bicycle

 

z

 

blending with the Texas landscape

13 thoughts on “Another Muenster Loop Post

  1. I suppose the heat has diminished in your part of the world and conditions are pretty fine these days. Up here in Canada the heat has diminished a bit too much!
    Cheers.

  2. Doubt it’ll be the Ramble due to the school schedule, but I’m gonna have to waste a lot of gas and roll down that way at some point. This loop combined with some frolicking in the LBJGrasslands or at the lake would like a most appropriate salve.

  3. Steve A – To be honest, I didn’t even check on this trip. I remember seeing it on a prior, but relatively recent, stop. So I’m guessing it is still there. As noteworthy a sight on the route as, say, catfish heads on a fence post, but for perhaps different reasons.

Leave a Reply

