Mystery Shades

aa

My recent purchase of sunglasses resulted in a minor mystery for me. After temporarily “losing” my prior pair, I “found” them when they crunched between my foot and my gravel driveway. So I reflected on how much I use my sunglasses and decided to upgrade a bit to the RayBan Clubmaster. Nothing too exotic.  Just decent optics combined with sturdiness and classic styling. I’m already enjoying improved vision. So what’s the mystery?

bbWell, I really like these shades, but I couldn’t quite figure out why. Sure, my driving and cycling has been enhanced by the improved vision. Yes, they come with a nice case  to protect them. But there’s something about that classic styling that speaks to me.  But what is it? The marbley-brownish frames? The green tinted lenses? The gold metal trim? I understand this might not be look you are aiming for, but the style just said “classic” to me. But why? That was the mystery…until I finally figured it out.

 

cc

The Floyd Factor! Yep, I’ve got the same frames that Mayberry’s favorite barber wore. And there’s no question that we all want to be a cool as Floyd.

Mystery solved.

5 thoughts on “Mystery Shades

  1. So I went to read up on Floyd the Barber to wake up those old neurons, and found this, which caused a few neurons to blow up like kernels of popcorn: “In the Star Trek episode “The City on the Edge of Forever,” there is a scene where Captain Kirk (William Shatner) and guest star Joan Collins are walking down a street supposedly located in New York City, New York during the 1930s. As they are walking down the sidewalk, the glass window clearly marked “Floyd’s Barber Shop” is visible briefly. This is because both shows used the outdoor Desilu Studios lot that was originally constructed as “Atlanta” in the 1939 film Gone With The Wind.”

  2. Pingback: My own Mystery Shades | Pedalling Along

Leave a Reply

